Personal Projects: Drawing Patterns

I thought I’d share something again that isn’t related to coursework. Over the last few weeks, I’ve been travelling back and forth by train frequently, and always took my sketchbook to pass the 1hour train ride. I ended up with a sketchbook full of different things, one of them is several patterns. I started of doing them to try out different materials, and ended up using mainly Japanese brushed pen. I like their quality for sketches in colour because they are rich in colour, and you instantly see the effect, e.g. when contrasting to colours. The brushed pens are fun to use.

As you can see, the patterns I came up with are mainly done through lines, dots, and colour blocks of different shapes. Some of them I did quicker than others, but I enjoyed them. For some I had a broad picturer in my head when I started, for others I didn’t really know where I would end up.

 

I feel this is good practice and a good use of my train journeys, so I will continue to sketch, and I’ll try to do it more frequently, even though it is just one small fast sketch.

 

One thought on “Personal Projects: Drawing Patterns

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.