Inspiration: Visiting Museum Brandhorst

Last weekend I visited Museum Brandhorst which mainly houses modern and contemporary art. I visited a few times before; it is not a large museum but sometimes hosts great exhibitions.

At the moment you can see Cy Twombly who impressed me with large canvas works and the colours! I love colourful paintings (mostly), and I was stunned when walking into the exhibition room full of abstract paintings of roses – large canvases in different colours – red, blue, pink, yellow.

The other exhibtion that is on right now features Hamburg-born artist Kerstin Brätsch. I enjoyed the abstract works and interesting paint strokes of her work.

To me, this was a quick museum visit to pass the time on a rainy day. I did not know a lot about the artists on display before, and did not know what to expect. It was an interesting experience, and what I took away from this visit was the colours – and how differently they can convey the same image.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.